Penelope Crumb Finds Her Luck.pdf

Penelope Crumb Finds Her Luck.pdf


"Stout populates her story with appealing characters who shine in both snappy dialogue and Penelope's wry yet winsome first-person narration...Although full of candies and melting Popsicles, this sweet take is refreshing rather than cloying."
Kirkus Reviews

"The first person narrative magnifies the wacky humor of Penelope's unique observations and phrasings, and readers can compare her (not-always-reliable) perspective with that shown in the occasional spot art."
Horn Book

"Fans of Clementine and Ramona Quimby will feel right at home with [Penelope]."
School Library Journal

Shawn Stout has held many jobs, including ice cream scooper, dog treat baker, magazine editor, and waitress. She also holds the job of “mother” to her daughter Opal. In addition to the Penelope Cumb series, Shawn has written two books, Fiona Finkelstein, Big Time Ballerina and Fiona Finkelstein Meets her Match for Simon and Schuster, and before that received her MFA in Writing for Children and Young Adults from the Vermont College of Fine Arts. Her family also includes a husband and two dogs named Munch and Laverne. She once won a ribbon for her Peach Pie at the Great Fredrick Fair.

“Penelope Crumb . . . channels the quirkiness of Ramona Quimby and the detective skills of Cam Jansen . . . Penelope will delight children and parents alike.”
—Shelf Awareness

“Readers will root for and relate to this fresh-voiced young heroine who joins the likes of Ramona, Judy Moody and Clementine.”
—Kirkus Reviews

“Kids who have outgrown the Junie B. Jones series will enjoy Penelope’s equally comical narrative style.”

In the third book in this hilarious, endearing series, all Penelope Crumb wants is to be someone's "Favorite." She’d thought she was her Grandpa Felix’s Favorite, and her mom’s Favorite, and her friend Patsy Cline’s Favorite, but she’s starting to realize that maybe she’s not. And it’s all The Bad Luck’s fault. So since Penelope's a superb artist, she comes up with a plan—she's going to be the boss of the mural her school is making at the Portwaller’s Blessed Home for the Aged, which will make her into everyone’s Favorite.  And maybe it’ll frighten The Bad Luck away. But things don't quite go as planned there either. And when an old woman named Nila promises to help Penelope find her luck so everyone will like her again, things get even worse! In the end, Penelope finds out that friendships aren't about luck—and that it doesn't matter if you're anyone's Favorite when there are tons of people who love you. In a book that’s equal parts humor and heart, it’s clear to see why young readers will count Penelope as one of their Favorites.


当当网购书 京东购书 卓越购书